UV light to remove chlorophyll from tinctures

Discussion in 'Science and Nature' started by Immacrepe, Mar 16, 2021.

1. Hi, I'm new here so if this isn't the right forum, please excuse me and redirect. I'm a pastry chef by trade, and food science is one of my passions. I'm new to this tincture game, and I'm trying to help someone close to my heart who can no longer smoke get the medication they need so they don't go down a darker road for relief. I'll be making edibles, the stronger the better. My first tincture was decarbed (60 min @ 240°) and I used the AGG extractor (which I'm returning, after realizing I can do it better in the freezer) I used 151 everclear (now have 190) took it from green to red with sunlight and reduced it in a ban marie low and slow. It's cold AF today, so I didn't ventilate and I'm feeling pretty floaty. I've got a few questions
    1. Does this look normal?
    2. Are there certain odors that I should be wary of
    3. Can I use UVA,UVB, or UVC light to remove chlorophyll from GD instead of sunlight?

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Working with 151 proof you are really are limited in how much you can reduce before it separates like yours has. At this point take it all the way down to tar and get the water gone by evaporation. I use a high speed fan and it's done overnight.
    If you want a stronger 151 Tincture add back Fresh 151 and stir until your RSO tar dissolves again.
    Working with 190 proof avoids this issue as it can be reduced without separation.

BNW

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. @Immacrepe

Welcome to the City by the way.
    Stoners and we don't always remember the niceties.
    Let me dig up a few threads for you to check out.

BNW

• Like Like x 1
  4. How I do Tincture.

[​IMG]
    4 very cold fifths of 185 proof recovered alcohol on hand and 2 half gallon jars of pre-decarbed weed scraps I knocked out some tincture.
    [​IMG]