Plex server build

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by A AnoesisOrange, Oct 28, 2017.

1. Want to build a Plex server. Never been a hardware guy but wanted to do a build for a while since I work in tech and thought it'd be a cool learning experience. I have a guy at work that has done several builds and has built a Plex server and he is helping me out but I want to bounce ideas off other people as well so here I am.

Here's what I have so far:

processor: AMD FX-9590 Eight-Core $126.2

water cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2 Extreme Performance Water / Liquid CPU Cooler. 240mm (CW-9060025-WW) 109$

tower: Cooler Master HAF 912 - Mid Tower Computer Case with High Airflow, Supporting up to Six 120mm Fans and USB 3.0 60$

motherboard: GA-990FXA-UD3 (negotiable)

RAM: G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBSR 65$ (negotiable)

Lifetime Plex plan: $119

My Book (Recertified) 4TB external hard drive: 99$

GPU: ???

Power Supply: ???

Hard drive: ???

Total so far: 578.2$

Thoughts? Suggestions? Help? I'm a total noon, so I don't know what I don't know.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Also just wanted to mention that I'll probably just run some minimal flavor of Linux and will mostly just be sshing in to it. Ill use an old keyboard, mouse, and screen for initial install. Not too bent up about anything but the external hard drive and what goes inside the case.

Sent from my KFAUWI using Grasscity Forum mobile app

3. Personally, I would bump the ram up to at least 16gb , ditch the external drive and use the on-board raid controller to run either a raid 1, 5 or 10 on internal sata drives.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. What would be the benefit of moving the memory internal?