Canabutter

Discussion in 'Concentrate Tools' started by MRodgers, Sep 25, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Help please. I am brand new to making cannabutter. I use one pound of unsalted butter in my magic butter machine. I used 2 oz of pretty good bud. When I finish training I only ended up with about half a pound of butter. A lot of it seems to be soaked up into the we meaning bud. Is this normal? Is there a way to get more of the butter out? I apologize if this is not the place to post this. But unfortunately this old man Needs help.

2. @BrassNwood .........he has the "plan" on doing this stuff......wait for him.

3. Welcome in @MRodgers

Yes that is normal enough. You can try either a Potato Ricer or a garlic press to extract more oil.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

It's part of the inherent waste of making oil that way. The other option is to grind the herb to flour grade dust after decarb and don't strain. While it can add a slight grittiness to a cooked item it does insure your getting all the bang from your cannabis.

I'll pass along my own personal favorite recipe that I learned here on the City and have passed around for several years now.

Decarb 240 F for 40 minutes uncovered. Buds, Hash, Kef.
    5 grams decarbed Cannabis
    2.5 teaspoons Coconut oil
    1/2 teaspoon Lecithin ( any kind )
    Heat 220 F for 20 minutes
    Freeze (optional)
    Heat 220 F for 20 minutes (skip if you didn't freeze)

Done.

Coconut oil hits fastest of all cooking oil = 45 minutes
    Lecithin acts as a strength and duration enhancer for twice the bang.

Make this in small batches as that seems to incorporate the lecithin to it's best advantage. I just don't get the same "hold on to your hat" kind of ride done in large batches.
    I usually make this as a triple batch
    15 grams of kief
    2.5 tablespoons oil
    1/2 tablespoon Lecithin.

BNW

• Like Like x 1